Memorial day weekend

And I’m pretty near 100 posts! I can’t remember if this will be it, or the next one, or the one after, but I know I’m close.

Slow week at Spoon again, but I do believe the OLO (Ohio Light Opera) performers are in town, so in the next couple weeks things might start to pick up as performances get going. Then in July its supposed to get a little bit wild. Especially for the Bistro next door – two performances a day and they tend to get people leaving the first and going to the second at the same time. Should be fun.

Homemade bagels are going well. Made a Garlic and Onion batch and a Sesame and Poppy seed batch. Trying a naturally leavened batch right now (mixed and shaped today, will bake tomorrow). Then a Jalapeno and Cheddar batch has been requested by a boss next. I’m thinking bacon bagels will be happening soon.

Other point of work interest from this week – we catered a wedding on Saturday! I didn’t have too much to do with, but did get to make a bunch of country bread for it. Including a bunch of roasted garlic loaves – my favorite. Unless I make a bacon and roasted garlic. Although that might be too wonderful for anyone to stand. And the Dark Chocolate Cherry Sourdough is pretty darn tasty, too…

Yesterday, as you know, was Memorial Day. There was a parade downtown and I believe we were one of few places open. So I made a bunch of pastry treats – Spoonuts (patriotically glazed and sprinkled), Croissants, scones. Went well. Sadly, I did not get to see much of the parade because they keep me in the back. There were men in the back of pickups and on horseback, though.

Sunday was a great day. I got up, went for a bike ride and run (ride out to Spangler/Wooster Memorial Park, run around there, ride back), then went down to camp to hit up the Whiffletree with a bunch of peeps and then hang out for the day sunning, frisbee-ing, and chilling. It was just what I needed.

This entry was posted in Food, People, Spoon Market. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

