Spring tries hard

But Ohio sure seems interested in holding on to winter. Hopefully the cold is gave its last hurrah this morning (back down in the teens…), spring sure is working hard to poke its way through. Pretty much all of the ice and snow is gone, found some hanging around out at Wooster Memorial Park yesterday, but only where it is heavily shaded.

I guess I’ll work backwards because that is the easiest way for me to remember what happened…

After work on Sunday, Flex had a staff meeting – where we learned that things are going well and I need to learn how to advertise well to bring in more students. I mean, I kinda knew that before and it wasn’t directed at me, but it should happen. Any suggestions? But then, even more fun, after the meeting, I went out to WMP for a hike and meandered through t e forest. It was great to get outside again in pleasant weather!

On Saturday, I had 6 whole people in my Power Vinyasa flow after baking, which was exciting. Hoping that this pattern of adding two a week continues! At work, I made some tasty oatmeal cookie sandwiches with apple slices baked in butter, brown sugar, and cinnamon, and creme fraiche. Super tasty. Ooh, and strawberry surprise muffins – yellow cake with strawberries inside. After class, Spoon had a little staff party – food and bowling and socializing – but, of course, I had to get my tushie to bed, so I was around for part of it, but skipped the bowling.

Friday was just terrific! Reasons Friday was great:
1) Moon day AND no work, so I got to sleep in. A LOT. All the way to 7:45a
2) I got to go to local elementary school and teach 6 yoga classes to the kids for the morning and early afternoon. The gym and art teacher of this small, public elementary school, goes to Flex, enjoys my classes, and asked if I wanted to come help her (do her job?) for a day. It was great. The kids love to fall on mats, and are so fearless to give whatever we throw at them a try. And its hilarious when they can just do some noteabley challenging (for most people) poses with out a lot of effort. Kids finding firefly, splits, eight-angle, and other poses like that *snap*. So much fun!
3) I got to see the space that Spoon will be moving to in ~1.5 years. Its big and different and cool.
4) It was the vernal equinox! So, I went to the Studio on Liberty (the other yoga studio in town) for 108 sun salutations in honor of it. Which made it extra lucky that it was on a Friday Moon day – I didn’t have to get up and practice ashtanga either the morning of or after. 108 is a bunch of sun salutations (mountain pose, forward fold, halfway lift, chaturanga/four limbed staff pose, up dog, down dog, halfway lift, forward fold, mountain pose). The monotonous repetition is a science experiment, really, where you are the independent variable (just like the ashtanga practice). The movements are the same, the way you feel changes with each one, and how you perform the movements changes because of that. So, you can use the evidence of how you do the movements to learn more about yourself. Its quite the sweaty ride. Thank goodness for the Yogi-toes mat towel. There were about nine of us there doing it and it made me want to host one at Flex, but also do a lead up series of classes to help participants build up to being able to do that many. Hopefully I can make it happen and make it happen well!

On Thursday, after baking, I got to do some AcroYoga outdoors (it was windier and chillier than I hoped and expected) with another Flex teacher I have been Acro-ing with a bit. We managed to get a little bit of foot-to-foot balance. It still definitely needs some work, but we’re on the way! Then it was off to Flex for an evening of yoga fun! At 5:30p I assist a Beginner’s Basics class which is fun. Then, at 6:30p, I take Emily’s PVF class, which is always a blast. Then, there was a spare hammock, so I got to take Aerial that night, too, (because I would be teaching kids yoga when I usually go on Friday mornings) before ending the night with a photoshoot with Patrick Hoban Photography (who has taken pictures for us before) who wanted to try out his new lights and was down to take pics for us! Got to do some individual, some in groups, some acro. It was cool.

On Wednesday, baked and taught my two Wednesday classes – Restaurant yoga and all levels donation class – which are always fun. I don’t specificially remember much else from then or Tuesday or Monday. Besides doing some Barre and my first PiYo class. Both fun and definitely different from yoga.

Overall, good week.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

